Bombers stage two-goal third period comeback, top Buccaneers 3-2 in overtime

The Buccaneers pushed the pace early, and the Bombers looked a step behind as Nanaimo opened the scoring just over five minutes in as Korman Branter convered a backdoor set up by Euan Morrison at 5:13 of the first to make it 1-0. The Bucs doubled their lead with 2:10 to play in the first while shorthanded, as Euan Morrison picked off a Keelan Hondro pass and drove the net to tap in his own rebound to make it 2-0 Buccaneers after 20 minutes.

The Bombers had a good push to start the second, but couldn’t beat Rogan Bacon, and couldn’t sustain it as the period wore on. The Buccaneers carried the 2-0 lead into the room after 40 minutes.

The Bombers again pushed early in the third, but still couldn’t mount any sustained attack to break the goose egg. They didn’t quit however, and finally found the back of the net with 7:25 to play as Hunter Harwood put a wrister at the net from the right point that found it’s way through Rogan Bacon to make it 2-1, with Jackson Payeur drawing the assist. Seconds later, the Bombers pushed for the equalizer and drew a penalty. It would take just seven seconds on the man advantage to tie it, as Jackson Payeur threw it at the net where Sam Davidson jammed the rebound home from the paint to make it 2-2 at 13:37. The Bombers earned a major penalty seconds later, but the Buccaneers killed it off as the game went to overtime.

In sudden death, Justin Osborne was the hero as he drove over the Buccaneers line and drew two defenders to him. Gavin Mastrodonato would find the loose puck down the right side, and sent Osborne in alone where he scored on a beautiful top corner move to his backhand to send the Bombers off the bench to celebrate.

Final shots were 44-29 Bombers, with Keelan Hondro and Rogan Bacon being the goalies of record. The Bombers went 1 for 7 on the power play while the Buccaneers went 0 for 3, while also scoring once while shorthanded.

The Bombers next see action tomorrow night, as they visit the Islanders at Kerry Park Arena at 7:30.